Quotes From Famous Fashion Designers – Yves Saint Laurent

ysl1Yves Saint Laurent led a controversial lifestyle, especially towards end of his life. He did not actively participate in his business for the past 10 years of his official career, only showing up at the run ways to waive to public. But first 20 years of his career were remarkable and will forever be embedded in the history of fashion. He became a lead designer for Dior house when he was just 20 years old. He actually got to work closely with Christian Dior. He created many novel styles such as Safari, women’s suit etc. Here are some of his quotes that perhaps will help understand what he was striving for with his designs:

Over the years I have learned that what is important in a dress is the woman who is wearing it.

Isn’t elegance forgetting what one is wearing?

A good model can advance fashion by ten years.

We must never confuse elegance with snobbery.

I am not interested in beauty, I am only interested in shock and seduction.

I am scared of this collection.

The most beautiful makeup of a woman is passion. But cosmetics are easier to buy.

The most beautiful clothes that can dress a woman are the arms of the man she loves. But for those who haven’t had the fortune of finding this happiness, I am there.

I participated in the transformation of my era. I did it with clothes, which is surely less important than music, architecture, painting … but whatever it’s worth I did it.

I tried to show that fashion is an art. For that, I followed the counsel of my master Christian Dior and the imperishable lesson of Mademoiselle Chanel. I created for my era and I tried to foresee what tomorrow would be.

I love bows, … And I feel some couture pots coming on.

See other quotes of famous designers here.

 

I have always believed that fashion was not only to make women more beautiful, but also to reassure them, give them confidence.

Leave a Reply

