Quotes from Karl Lagerfeld

Karl Lagerfeld is without questions is the brightest fashion designer of the present. He is also one of the most outspoken. To continue on topic of quotes by famous designers, here is some of Largerfeld’s “karlshisms“:

  • The best things I’ve ever done have come from dreams
  • I love change; I’m attached to nothing
  • When I took on Chanel, it was a sleeping beauty — not even a beautiful one; she snored
  • Hunters make a living having learnt nothing else than hunting, killing those beasts who would kill us if they could. In a meat-eating world, wearing leather for shoes and clothes and even handbags, the discussion of fur is childish
  • Why should I stop working? If I do, I’ll die and it’ll all be finished
  • Success nullifies; you have to do it again, and better
  • Russian men are the worst. If I would be a Russian woman, I would be a lesbian by now
  • It is my job to adopt to changes of today and not live in the past
  • What is interesting is now. If you think it was better before, then you might as well commit suicide immediately
  • Everything changes, except death. Billions have died before us, so it can’t be that bad. If you ask me, death and deep sleep are the same thing
  • In all my contracts it says, if you want me, send a private jet
  • What you need is a face. If you have a face you don’t need height or a voice. Models know this; that’s why the good ones don’t need to talk much
  • Nowadays you start to model because you’re young. Now the girls are sixteen, seventeen, fifteen, and Russian. They are like from another planet.
  • I hate all these tall women. They are all giants!
  • I don’t need meetings. I’m only interested in my own opinion anyway
  • I’m mad for books, it is a disease I won’t recover from
  • Career, what career? What does it mean – career? Everything I do is my passion. Everything is connected
  • I don’t turn pages. I tear them out. I make blank pages again. I am an unwritten book

Leave a Reply

